Upgrading Parallels Tools in Parallels Workstation 2.0 Virtual Machine
If you have a Virtual Machine which is:
- created by Parallels Workstation 2.0,
- with Windows 98/ME/NT/2000/XP/2003 guest OS installed,
- with Parallels Tools provided for Parallels Workstation 2.0 installed
you may use Parallels Tools Center and the newly developed tools, such as Time Synchronization Tool, after upgrading Parallels Tools. To upgrade Parallels Tools:
- Make sure that the Virtual Machine configuration includes a CD/DVD-ROM drive and it is enabled (the Enabled checkbox is selected). See the CD/DVD-ROM Options.
- Start your guest operating system and log in. In order to install tools properly do not begin the installation until OS completes its startup and you log in.
- Select the Install Parallel Tools in the Parallels Workstation VM menu.
- You are warned about necessity of having guest OS fully started and being logged in: "
You can install the Parallels Tools only if the guest operating system is running and you are logged in. If you are not logged in now, select Cancel and run Parallels Tools installation later." If you are logged in, click OK to start installing. - Parallels Tools Setup wizard starts and informs you that you have the Parallels Tools 2.0 already installed in your Virtual Machine and they will be updated. Click Next to move to the Setup Type screen.
- In the Setup Type screen you should choose between the
complete setup and a custom one. The complete setup installs all of the tools available for your guest OS. If you select custom setup, Select Components screen asks you to select desired tools from all the tools available for your guest OS. - In the Ready to Install screen you are able to return back to review installation settings. When you are ready, start installation by clicking the Install button.
- After the wizard copies tools, Installation Completed screen asks if you want to restart the computer now. Accept the selected option and click Finish.
Windows NT
In Windows NT guest OS, readmes for continuing installation of the video and audio drivers will be opened. Close them since re-installation of the drivers is not needed.